Safety Consultant Solutions, LLC
What is CSA 2010?
Compliance Safety Accountability 2010:

I.  Overview:

December 2010 – The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) began implementing its new safety oversight program – CSA 2010, the acronym for Compliance / Safety / Accountability.  The program is administered by the FMCSA, but is actually the product of a cooperative effort that included input from both state and industry partners who share the common goal to reduce the number of commercial motor vehicle (CMV) accidents on our nation’s roadways.  The CSA 2010 program was specifically designed to improve upon the FMCSA’s former oversight program known as SafeStat. The SafeStat program consisted of 4 Safety Evaluation Areas (SEAs). Violations and Safety Issues were grouped together and then evaluated to identify those companies in need of a one-size-fits-all Compliance Review. Under the guidelines of CSA 2010, the FMCSA uses 7 BASICS to evaluate the safety performance of those companies operating under their jurisdiction. The improved program enables the FMCSA to quickly identify and address high-risk companies with compliance concerns.

    The 7 BASICs:
  1.  Unsafe Driving
  2.  Hours of Service / Fatigued Driving 
  3.  Driver Fitness
  4.  Controlled Substance / Alcohol
  5.  Vehicle Maintenance
  6.  Proper / Improper Loading Hazmat
  7.  Crash Indicator

The FMCSA has determined, through years of collecting data, that companies / drivers performing poorly in one or more of these BASIC areas are more likely to be involved in an accident than those companies / drivers who meet or exceed the industry standard.

The new program builds on the former processes for assessing and improving the safety performance of motor carriers and drivers with a new Safety Measurement System and up-to-date suite of available tools.  The program also includes an enhanced Compliance Review, followed by a series of efficient interventions tailored to address a company’s specific problems. 

Each of the 7 BASICS includes recommendations and requirements from the FMCSA.  These are referred to as the Safety Management Cycle and are specific to each BASIC.

    Safety Management Cycle:

  1. Policy & Procedure
  2. Roles & Responsibilities
  3. Qualifications & Hiring
  4. Training & Communication
  5. Monitoring & Tracking
  6. Meaningful Action 
The 7 BASICs and Safety Management Cycle are only a small part of the overall program, but contain the elements which are of the most concern to the FMCSA and its inspectors. The FMCSA will continuously work to collect more precise data that will be used to update and strengthen its safety enforcement tools.

II.  Impact on Carrier / Driver:

CSA 2010 is an important initiative to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of FMCSA’s enforcement and compliance
program to achieve the agency’s mission to reduce commercial motor vehicle (CMV) crashes, fatalities and injuries. The primary focus of this process is to change behavior and create an accountability standard.  This forces both the carrier and driver to be mindful of their Safety Management Score, and then
take the initiative to:
  1. Identify potential safety issues
  2. Determine why these potentially unsafe issues exist
  3. Take action to correct and eliminate the safety issues